Library Publishing Curriculum

We are delighted to offer the "Library Publishing Curriculum," a suite of synchronous and asynchronous professional development offerings for librarians that are open and free under a CC-BY license for anyone to offer or adapt. This dynamic, extensible, multimedia curriculum is intended to empower librarians to meet local demands to launch and/or enhance scholarly publishing activities.

The curriculum currently includes four modules that address major competencies in library publishing: Content, Impact, Policy, and Sustainability. Each module has been authored by field experts, and each is roughly the equivalent of a 12 hour "course." Each module contains an introduction plus 4-6 "units" that address topics of interest. Within each unit, we have produced and offer freely the following components: a narrative, a slideshow with talking notes, activities for use in a physical or virtual classroom for workshops and courses.

Content Module:
Authors: Peter Berkery, Executive Director, AAUP; Meredith Babb, Director, University Press of Florida; Jasmine Mulliken, Stanford University Press; Friederike Sundaram, Stanford University Press; Dennis Lloyd, University of Wisconsin Press; Mary Rose Muccie, Director, Temple University Press; Brenna McLaughlin, Director of Marketing & Communications, AAUP

Impact Module
Author: John W. Warren, Head, George Mason University Press and Mason Publishing Group

Policy Module:
Authors: Sara Benson, Copyright Librarian and Assistant Professor, University Library at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Harriet Green, Interim Head of Scholarly Communication and Publishing, English and Digital Humanities Librarian and associate professor, University Library at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Merinda Hensley, Associate Professor and the Digital Scholarship Liaison and Instruction Librarian at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Janet Swatscheno, Visiting Digital Publishing Specialist at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library

Sustainability Module:
Authors: Laurie N. Taylor, Digital Scholarship Librarian at the University of Florida; Brian W. Keith, Associate Dean for Administration and Faculty Affairs at the George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida


This project was made possible in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services.